The Apollo Stakes results are influenced by a number of important factors. Many of the competing horses have their sights set on later events, so they may simply be warming up to another feature when they contest this race. The Chipping Norton Stakes is a common target for Apollo Stakes winners and placegetters.

Some of the best race horses in the world have found themselves amongst the Apollo Stakes results, and many of the historic winners have gone on to extraordinary careers.

Notable Apollo Stakes winners include Emancipation (1984), Red Anchor (1985), Naturalism (1993), Sunline (2000, 2001), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2005), Desert War (2007) and Appearance (2014).

Apollo Stakes results back to 2000, including top three winners and winning times, are listed below.

Apollo Stakes Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2018 Endless Drama Global Glamour Comin’ Through 1:22.4
2017 Winx Hartnell Endless Drama 1:22.5
2016 Winx Solicit Hauraki 1:22.0
2015 Contributer Ninth Legion Weary 1:22.0
2014 Appearance Speediness Moriarty 1:22.0
2013 Alma’s Fury Tougher Than Ever Danleigh 1:27.3
2012 Rain Affair Shoot Out Danleigh 1:22.3
2011 Melito Hot Danish Centennial Park 1:22.2
2010 Danleigh Rangirangdoo Palacio De Cristal 1:22.9
2009 Tuesday Jpy Hurried Choice Gallant Tess 1:25.7
2008 Racing To Win Tuesday Joy Falaise 1:24.3
2007 Desert War Mentality Eremein 1:22.2
2006 Ike’s Dream Shania Dane Desert War 1:22.2
2005 Grand Armee Court’s In Session Desert War 1:21.1
2004 Private Steer Excellerator Zanna 1:23.5
2003 Lonhro Hoeberg Carael Boy 1:22.5
2002 Ha Ha El Mirada Tie The Knot 1:23.1
2001 Sunline Celestial Choir Referral 1:25.5
2000 Sunline Adam Hire 1:27.7